A New Day: Guided by My Desired Feelings…

desire_150x1501

 Our emotions need to be as educated as our intellect.

It is important to know how to feel, how to respond,

and how to let life in so that in can touch you.

~ Jim Rohn

And, I’m back!

I never really left. I simply took an emotional and intellectual break to dig deeper into what I truly desire in life as it relates to being a citizen of the world, a small business owner, a working professional graduate student, wife, daughter, sister, and friend.

Since the start of 2013, I have been educating my emotions by focusing on my desired feelings. In particular, I have found myself exploring the hopes and dreams of my soul in The Desire Map. What is that you ask?

Everything we do is driven by the desire to feel a certain way.

…We need to make our feelings the heart of the matter.

@DanielleLaPorte

Based on this idea, The Desire Map is a multimedia guide to what you want the most. In addition to this self-guided exploration, I took a course entitled, “The Business of Being an Artist,” as well as attended a 2-day workshop on Right-Brain Business Planning. The 8 months of contemplating such pursuits was a priceless opportunity to reflect, learn, and grow that resulting in me completing the Jillybeads 4 Justice business plan along with a visual one for inspiration.

Say what…you launched your business without a complete business plan?!

Yes, I did and I’m proud of the fact that I’m no longer part of the 70% of businesses that start without one. From the beginning, this venture has been a leap of faith (see Why I Started a Business) as I use my true and gained gifts to inspire and implement my passions in a tangible way. What’s clear to me now that was more vague then was that if I continued giving my gifts to someone else’s vision of “changing the world” and “making a difference” that I would remain stuck and feeling like a passive citizen. Those that know me would agree that staying in one place or being inactive are not traits that would be used to describe me. And so, I choose to follow my vision and desire feelings as I continue on this journey.

As a result of this personal and professional inquiry, here’s what you can come to expect:

  • Advocacy: I will show support for the causes I believe to be social justice issue and recommend simple while timely ways you too can show your support.
  • Education: I believe when providing a recommendation, it’s also your responsibility to inform. Though cognizant of my bias I choose to use them as my lens in seeing the world.
  • Accessorizing: A new piece bi-weekly (on the 1st and 3rd Monday of the month) that will include the bead’s story, my inspiration for the piece, or highlight my creative practices.

Simply put, I am excited to be on this journey and to share it will you. Tomorrow’s the day of something new—I’ll be sharing the first new piece, so stayed tuned…

CALL 2 ACTION: Inspired to consider your desired feelings?! You should as…

Desire is the engine of creation.
Feelings are your road signs.
Desire mapping is how to get where you want to go.

For more information, go here.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

